March 15, 2015 … by thy long grey beard*

My middle son suggested that I should dress in yellow storm-proof clothing.

Seaview

Last light at Seaview

He always was a cheeky fellow. This arose from a conversation on Facebook in which someone made kind comments about my maritime images. Perhaps I get stuck in a rut from time to time. Sometimes it’s birds, sometimes it’s the sea. This all comes back to an interesting article I read, in which it was suggested that photographers should focus more on the enjoyment of making images and less on the grind of making money. Fortunately, I have rarely used photography in the latter mode. I make them because the act of making pictures is a deeply pleasurable process. If that results in images that I like enough to share, that is a bonus. So to today’s first shot taken as I was about to get in my car to drive to the shore. The sun was about to be obscured by a heavy band of cloud on the Western horizon, but there was sufficient light to illuminate the tank farm at Seaview.

Wharves

From the old Lyttelton ferry wharf looking South

At Petone beach, I paused to see if there might be a sea-level view of the same phenomenon, but the shaft of light had moved with the clouds and nothing useful was apparent. In to the city and I had a look at the wharf near the Bluebridge ferry terminal. The light was a bit flat, but if nothing else, it gave a different perspective on an otherwise familiar shoreline.

Oriental Bay

A young couple with Oriental Bay all to themselves

In Oriental Bay, as the daylight ebbed away, the Carter Fountain’s programmed illumination began to be visible. A young couple in need of some time together were sitting on the beach in what I regarded as chilly and less than comfortable circumstances.  The red building is the old band rotunda and the restaurant in its newest form. It has had many owners over the years.

fountain

The Carter Fountain in a blue mood

When darkness was at last upon me, the fountain was more spectacular and I was able to take several shots as it switched through a range of colours every thirty seconds or so,

Something new tomorrow.

*The Rime of the Ancient Mariner by Samuel Taylor Coleridge.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Industrial, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Oriental Bay, Sunset, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

