March 13, 2015 … here and there

Lunch is a good excuse to go to town.

Lambton Quay

Lambton Quay … the old Public Trust building on the right is undergoing earthquake strengthening

Having arrived early I walked around a few city blocks, grabbing shots here and there. This is Lambton Quay looking North from Midland Park. Then it was time for food. Leuven is a favourite Belgian Beer restaurant. Sadly, I decided to forego my favourite steamed mussels in blue cheese and mustard sauce. Mussels are a food that gout sufferers should avoid, so much as I love them I bypassed the mussels this time.

Tern

White-fronted tern, Plimmerton

As I often do, I took the long route home, via SH1 and Gray’s Road with a brief pause at Plimmerton where I was happy to see a flock of White-fronted terns. They usually seem to show up when there is a high wind.

Landscape

Landscape near Judgeford

On Gray’s Road, having stopped to watch some white-faced herons, I looked behind me and enjoyed the hilly landscape despite the sun-bleached pastures.

Bees

Flowers and honey bees

On the way home I knew I need some grocery items so stopped at one of our local supermarkets. As I got out of the car I became aware that I was very close to a whole lot of buzzing honey bees on what looked like an unseasonal pohutukawa or rata. Consultation with net friends suggests it is the cultivated Metrosideros carminea. But the great pleasure was seeing feral honey bees in apparent good health. Colony collapse disorder has made them a rarity in recent years.

That’s all today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Birds, flowers, insects, Landscapes, Plimmerton, Porirua, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

