March 11, 2015 … nocturnal opportunism

I may have said it before.

Ticker

There was a function with loud music in the Star Boating club, but otherwise the lagoon precinct was largely deserted. Nevertheless the ticker display continues to break the news all though the night

My night shots are often a consequence of procrastination in the day. Then the day is gone, and I am up against the wall. Camera Club nights often seem to have this result. So it was yesterday. After a very good guest speaker session we concluded at around 9:30 pm. With no useful images caught, desperation kicked in. However, it was a clear night with almost no wind. I decided the Marina had been worked to death so I went into the city, with the idea that the waterfront near Frank Kitts Park might present some opportunities. Sure enough, the stock exchange ticker display was reflecting stop, caution, go messages to a non-existent audience on the almost calm waters of the lagoon.

Albatross

The Albatross by Tanya Ashken

Reluctant as I am to repeat shots that others (and I) have done a million times before, I found the Tanya Ashken fountain irresistible under floodlights. Despite my frequently expressed enthusiasm for the fountain, I think it hates me. Each time I set up to photograph it, the darned things shuts down.

Reflection

The fountain stops and nothing is heard but dripping. The water stills and a new opportunity appears

Well, it was a still night, so even without running water, the sculpture itself presented a nice reflection of its bird-like curves.

Lights

From the other side of the lagoon

A walk around the lagoon presented a different view, and I was surprised at just what small light-sources yielded amazing reflections. I also discovered that a lot of young folks seem to make use of of the various crevices and niches around the lagoon, either for a moment of almost-privacy with a significant other, or to consume recreation pharmaceuticals out of the public eye. A prowling photographer may not have been what they wanted.

Art

Art or science? “Ferns” could be about to go into space

Over the city-to-sea bridge, I came to civic square where Neil Dawson’s sculpture “Ferns” is suspended in space. I envisaged the Majestic Tower behind  it as a suitable launch vehicle to put the 200 kg 3.4 metre sphere into orbit. Green “grass” and the pavillion in the foreground are part of the city’s response to the ICC Cricket World Cup.

Moon Path

Golden pathway looking from Horokiwi towards the Wainuiomata Hill

It often frustrates me that I can’t stop to capture the wonderful views as I drive along the motorway over the rail yards and ferry terminal.  Last night the moon bathed the harbour in gold and the earliest place from which I could get a good view clear of the railway wiring system was at Horokiwi. I parked near the quarry and walked back to the corner that gave a view over Petone.

Enough for the day, and better than my procrastination deserved.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Art, Camera club, Light, night, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to March 11, 2015 … nocturnal opportunism

  1. A most profitable moonlit wander.

  2. Annie says:

    Brian, over the years your photos and dialogue remind me of the Wellington I lived in many years ago. Tonight is no different and I’d like to acknowledge the beauty of particularly the moonlight shot. Simply beautiful.

Leave a Reply

