March 8, 2015 … wild, wet and dark

After a mostly excellent summer, last night was a bit of a shock.

Oriental Bay

Oriental Bay as the rain sweeps in on the Northerly

Admittedly summer was very late arriving, and I hope it will be equally reluctant to depart. However, it came as a shock to experience what seemed like a winter evening. There was a lot happening in Wellington this weekend, and some  events were cancelled due to the unexpected downpour and a lot of surface flooding.

Lady Liz

Lady Elizabeth IV makes a run for the sea in search of a kayaker.

Out in Island Bay, a kayaker had been reported missing and the Police Launch, Lady Elizabeth IV made a fast run out through the harbour mouth on her way to search for the missing person. Happily he turned up safe and well so the search was called off. I was relieved. The last time I watched a police launch (The Lady Elizabeth II)  leave port in a hurry in 1986, she never returned, and two of her crew died.

Passsat Spring

Passat Spring waits for loading to resume

Across the harbour, a container ship Passat Spring seems to have suspended operations. The container cranes are stowed away anyway.

Clouds

Heavy weather

Looking up the harbour from Pt Jerningham, the heavy cloud over the valley seems to threaten even more rain.

Let’s see what happens tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March 8, 2015 … wild, wet and dark

  1. Neil Gordon says:

    Forgive the meteorologist reaction, Brian, but given the forecasts, including a Severe Thunderstorm Watch for Wellington yesterday afternoon and evening, it wasn’t exactly an “unexpected downpour”, and I think events were in fact postponed or cancelled because of the forecasts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

