March 5, 2015 … down by the riverside

I didn’t want to go far yesterday.

Cranes

Jurassic Park revisited?

My shots were all taken in the precinct of Sladden Park in Petone, beside the Hutt River. If you have been reading this blog for a while, you may recall the burning of the old Hutt Memorial College. I don’t recall reading any news of an arrest for that very obvious arson. Since then the remains have been demolished and construction of a large retirement complex is under way. The cranes looming over the trees reminded of a herd of giraffes looking for fresh foliage, or perhaps that scene from the movie Jurassic Park when the scientists first lay eyes on the browsing Diplodocus.

Landing

Here I come, ready or not.

I pushed through the trees that separate the cricket pitch from the river bank and found a stranded tree in the river being used as a roost by a flock of royal spoonbills. As I watched, a large spoonbill came flying in and claimed the top spot from another bird that had dared to occupy it. There was no “excuse-me”, but a direct landing into the already occupied perch. Boom! The displaced bird hopped down onto a lower branch.

Fight

These are the same two birds and by now the action is purely punitive.

However, the late arrival had not yet finished and pursued his enemy, snapping at his legs with that remarkable bill. Given the vast area of the bill I can’t imagine it exerts a lot of pressure, but it looked and sounded frightening. The rash intruder flew off into the distance.

Logs

Double headed log train bound for the port

A heavy rumble and the blast of a whistle announced the arrival of a log train onto the iron rail bridge at Moera. The pine logs would be bound for the port and thence for export to China.

A new day tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Hutt River, Industrial, Machinery, Trees, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March 5, 2015 … down by the riverside

  1. John Beveridge says:

    I noticed in this blog you mentioned the The Hutt Memorial Tech College had been burnt down.
    I guess you are talking about the HVMTC in Petone.
    I went to that college and visited it on one time when I was back in NZ. I have lived in Canada
    now for the past 56 years. How did it get burnt down?

Leave a Reply

