March 4, 2015 … wandering, wondering

It was a random sort of day.

Aro Valley

The top end of the Aro Valley behind Kelburn Village

I started taking pictures at the top end of Aro Valley. This is an area that has a demographic and a characteristic unlike any other in Wellington. I can’t define it, but the outsider just gets the impression it is qualitatively different. I am thinking  about the character of Greenwich Village or Haight-Ashbury, though the architecture and topology are wildly different from either place.

Lower Aro

Lower Aro Valley. Gotta love that yellow.

The further down the valley I went, the stronger I felt that “I wasn’t in Kansas any more, Toto”*. This manifests itself in the form of quirky architectural forms or outlandish colour choices.

Tanker

Jet A1 fuel delivery

My wandering took me through Evans Bay where the tanker Iver Express was discharging aviation fuel for the storage tanks at the airport.  She is a squat looking vessel and added attention is drawn by the bright red scheme.

Huhu

Huhu beetle, big, clumsy, noisy, but mostly harmless.

My last shot, to fill the quota for the day, was made when I came in from a camera club meeting. There in the light over the door was Huhu beetle (Prionoplus reticularis) . It’s a while since I saw one, and I had forgotten how intimidating they can be. The body is 5 or 6cm in length and when all the parts are in airborne motion it sounds like a Boeing CH47 Chinook helicopter. It tends to whirr and crash into things.

That’s all for today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, insects, Maritime, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

