February 28, 2015 … pushing the limits

Leaving things until the last minute is a bad habit of mine.

Oosterdam

Oosterdam just needs her passengers to get back aboard before she sails for Port Chalmers

Yesterday was the last possible day to submit images to a national competition so much of my day was tied up with finding eight images that seemed to match the criteria. Of course, ten minutes after I pressed send, I was second-guessing myself and I know I shall regret my selection when the results come out. Anyway, as a result, my photography fr the day was also at the last minute. From Oriental Bay, the cruise liner Oosterdam was not far off sailing time. She certainly occupies a large chunk of the available berthage.

Albatross

Probably the most photographed piece of public art in the city, Tanya Ashken’s “Albatross” has been photographed in every light and every weather

In Frank Kitts Park, the fountain was running and I tried for some contrast against the setting sun. Somehow that darned fountain knows when I am near because it shuts off before I could complete the sequence I intended.

Kota Lestari

Local yachts ghost along while Kota Lestari heads for the harbour mouth

I turned my back on it in time to see the Singaporean container ship Kota Lestari heading out of the harbour bound for Napier.

Hunter

City skyline … Hunter building nicely lit up.

Hoping for some city lights, I crossed back to Oriental Bay and pointed the lens towards the city and Kelburn. I am not often in the city at night so I am unsure how long Victoria University has been lighting up the historic and much loved Hunter Building but it certainly is a jewel in the city’s crown.

Maybe I’ll stop procrastinating tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, harbour, Light, Maritime, night, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

