February 27, 2015 … getting back to normal

I got my car back at the end of the day.

Heron

Solitary and unhappy white-faced heron

My first shot of the day once mobility was restored was of this white-faced heron sitting at the roadside on top of a grassy bank by the sea. Unusually for these normally skittish birds, it seemed unmoved by passing traffic, so a pause to get close was in order. Anthropomorphism is always dangerous, but I judged this bird to be depressed. Being in breeding plumage and alone might account for this.

Harbour

From Kelburn across the Harbour

In the evening, I went into the city to try for some “rosy evening” shots. The building I wanted was covered in scaffolding and plastic wrap. I surmise that the North facing stained glass window of Victoria University’s Hunter building still has water issues. Oh well, up to Kelburn by the cable car terminus. The spot I wanted to use was occupied by a young couple engaged in an intense but quiet debate of the deep and meaningful variety so I backed off. I came back half an hour later to find that peace had broken out with kissing and couple-selfies happening. I like to think that my discretion played a small part in this. When I set up my tripod, at last, I thought the soft pink light was worth the wait.

Kelburn

Inner city from Kelburn. Kelburn park is in the foreground with the fountain sitting idle.

A little further around the walkway and looking back into the city gave a different view.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Landscapes, Light, Vehicles, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to February 27, 2015 … getting back to normal

  1. Boeta says:

    Lovely shots, love the heron.

  2. David R says:

    Love the two pix from Kelburn.

    As one who spent several ‘formative years’ at Weir House in the early/mid 1970s, but who has lived thousands of miles distant for 30 years, they are a combination of intensely familiar and also sadly strange (the new buildings and skyline).

    As always, Brian, you strike a perfect balance of commentary and photography. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

