February 24, 2015 … adventures supplied

Queenstown is, without doubt, New Zealand’s capital of adventure tourism.

Balloons

Hot Air balloons over Lake Hayes Estate

 

Whatever way you want to put your life at risk, there is someone in Queenstown who will take your money from you and then let you do it. Though such lunacies as bungee jumping and skydiving are not for me, I appreciate the chance to see other people do it Watching is much less risky, vastly cheaper, and offers good photographic opportunities. Even as I got out of bed yesterday, there was the tell-tale roar of a gas-burner overhead. Sure enough, a pair of hot-air balloons were drifting quite low overhead, and I speculate that this is not only making use of the cool morning air, but also the temporarily quiet airspace in a physically constrained approach corridor to the Queenstown Airport.

Paragliding

Paragliding

 

Andrew had some work to do in his restaurant, so Mary took the kids shopping and I wandered the town basin. A pair of intrepid tourists were just going aloft on a paraglider towed by a powerful jet boat.

Earnslaw

Earnslaw heading off to Walter Peak Station

 

For those of a more sedate turn of mind, the “lady of the lake”, the TSS Earnslaw was just leaving town on one of its scheduled trips across the lake to Walter Peak Station. Great clouds of smoke mark her passage but she is a beloved icon of the region.

Shark

Shark

 

The latest attraction on the water is a pair of small dolphin-like two-seat power boats that rely on speed and hydroplanes to frolic in the water like a dolphin. I am told that they can reach depths of up to 5 metres. The antics it got up to made me queasy to watch.

That’s all today.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Lakes, Landscapes, Queenstown. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February 24, 2015 … adventures supplied

  1. Boeta says:

    Would go for sedate with camera in hand…

Leave a Reply

