February 22, 2015 … lake in the morning light

Birthday celebrations are all done, and they went very well.

coots

Australian coots gathering

That left me free to explore the wonders of the Queenstown area. Lake Hayes is a favourite of mine, not only because it is immediately accessible but also because, on the crisp clear mornings, when the lake is still and golden, the bird life appears.  At first it was just more Australian Coots.

Rowers

Women’s eight in training

Across the lake, a women’s rowing eight were training under the watchful eye of their coach in the power boat.  Though they looked great I though they would be incompatible with good bird opportunities, so I went to the other end of the lake.

Grebe

Crested grebe at Lake Hayes

O wonder of wonders, the crested grebes were there.

Grebes

Grebe courtship

It soon became apparent that there were courtship battles going on. I was unable to interpret who the various players were or whether the battles were between males competing for the female, or amorous males being beaten off by a reluctant female. Either way, there was a lot of splashing and short bursts of flight.

In the right weather this is a magical area.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Family, Lakes, Landscapes, Light, Queenstown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

