February 20, 2015 … wandering locally

We are travelling to Queenstown today.

urupa

Te Puni urupa. The chief’s marker is the square one three back in the centre

Our beautiful granddaughter Billie has her ninth birthday today and it’s nice that we can get here to share it with her. As always, however, today’s blog is about yesterday’s images.  When I get back to Wellington, I have organized a walkabout in the streets of Petone for the camera club, so I thought I had better have a trial run. Among the noteworthy places on the back streets of Petone is the Te Puni urupa (cemetery) where Honiana Te Puni, a chief of the Te Atiawa people was buried after his death in 1870. Honiana Te Puni formed an alliance with the pakeha and helped avoid many a battle. See http://www.nzhistory.net.nz/media/photo/honiana-te-puni-nz-wars-memorial

fibres

These fibres are almost two metres above the ground, I have no idea how they get there

Many of the nearby industrial sites have high fences topped with barbed wire. Somehow, most of them have strands of fibre streaming from the barbs. On a farm, nearer to ground level, I would assume sheep had brushed against the fence, I am baffled as to what creature is sufficiently far off the ground to make it happen here.

Clouds

Altocumulus over Petone

That persistent wind was still blowing, and may have been a contributor to the fascinating cloud patterns over the  Western Hills. I am no meteorologist, but I suspect that they are altocumulus clouds

More from Queenstown tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Petone, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February 20, 2015 … wandering locally

  1. nzphotogToya says:

    I think the fibres on top of the fence are from plastic bags that have blown there. I have a similar image from years ago with more of the bags intact.

  2. John Titchener says:

    Very tall sheep???

    Come to think of it though, didn’t your local MP reckon he had seen moa grazing around Lower Hutt? Maybe he was right…

Leave a Reply

