February 19, 2015 … I speak for the trees*

Bright sun and strong wind frustrate me.

Te Ahumairangi

Panorama from a place of desolation on Te Ahumairangi

Seeking out the high places yesterday took me to the Northern (Wadestown) end of Te Ahumairangi, formerly known as the Tinakori Hill. The drive up to the carpark is steep and very narrow, and last time I went there, it passed through a stand of old dark pine trees. It was shocking then, to arrive there and discover an open wasteland of tree stumps and woodchips. It seems the trees were deemed hazardous, so were felled and removed. There is a plan to replace them by planting native trees over the next three years. The silver lining in this is that there is now access to stunning views through an arc of about 270 degrees. Exposure to the wind is the natural corollary of a superb view. I had to hold the tripod firmly down to take the seven images used in the creation of this panorama which includes about 170 degrees.

Harbour

It looks fine, but it was a struggle to keep the camera still even with a heavy tripod.

Battling to retain my footing on the steep woodchip-covered slope I moved towards the harbour and looked down on port. The Interisland ferry Aratere is just leaving, while the cruise liner Dawn Princess is berthed at the cruise terminal. Unless my eyes deceive me, there are many passengers who chose to sit poolside, sheltered from the wind by the ships many glass screens. Note that the Westpac Stadium has been stripped of the logo of its principal sponsor for the duration of the cricket world cup.

CBD

Cityscape

In the evening, I formed the mistaken belief that the wind was falling off as the sun began to set. I went to Oriental Bay where my illusions were shattered. The wind was brisk and chilly. Clouds were scudding across the skyline. The only redeeming feature was the reflected light on the facade of the city.

Fountain

Spray drift

In Oriental Bay itself, despite the wind, the Carter Fountain continued to play. There is some sort of  interlock which shuts the fountain down if the spray is reaching the shore, Clearly it wasn’t working last night and sheets of water were drifting toward the shore.

There is still a strong wind today.

* The Lorax by Dr Seuss

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Forest, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

