February 17, 2015 … all day I face the barren waste*

The sun came back towards the end of yesterday.

mud

the oasis becomes the desert

For sanity’s sake, I went out to make some pictures. The conditions tended to favour Pauatahanui, I thought. I was shocked when I got there, to find the pond nearest the Gray’s Road entrance was a parched expanse of cracked mud.

Heron

White-faced heron ponders the empty pool

A solitary white-faced heron was sitting disconsolately wondering where the water had gone.

Pied stilt

Our baby has grown up

I went round the track to the hide, and sat inside for a while, enjoying the cool breeze through the ports and wondering like heron, why these tidally refreshed ponds were so short of sea water. However, I think I saw a juvenile pied stilt, almost certainly one of those that was a fluffy ball of grey fluff in December.

I survived the day.

*”Cool Water” by Bob Nolan

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Pauatahanui, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

