February 16th 2015 … pride cometh

Just as I was congratulating myself on a quick recovery!

Hutt

A moist morning in the Hutt Valley

I went out yesterday, and perhaps pushed too hard too soon. Nothing terribly physical, you understand, just the strain of standing upright and staying awake got too much for me, and my energy reserves crashed back to zero.  Ah well, I got some images anyway. It was a murky day in Wellington and right from the beginning, I wanted to capture the drifting grey quality of the day.

Yachts

“Believe me, my young friend, there is nothing — absolutely nothing — half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats.”*

In the afternoon, I began at Petone Beach where a couple of yachts were living the dream regardless of the weather. Again, it seemed to show the nature of the day.

CentrePort

The working area of Wellington’s CentrePort

In the city I paused near Centreport’s operational centre. If I had been up and about the previous day, instead of laid low, I might have had a ride on the tugs in exchange for a “gold” coin, since it was the port’s annual open day. Oddly, the sky seemed to be clearing so I made this image which is an odd mix of work boats and city architecture. The old Dominion Farmers Institute building seems to be having work done on its roof under cover of some plastic wrapping.

Memorial

Brooklyn’s War Memorial

Up on Washington Avenue, I looked across the valley to the Brooklyn War Memorial. The monument is unknown to most Wellingtonians and commemorates the 48 inhabitants of the suburb who died in WWI. A marble soldier, hat in hand looks out over the harbour from which his fallen comrades sailed.

City

Looking to the North across the city

My last image was made as I was becoming aware that my recovery was incomplete. I hauled the tripod up to a small knoll on Prince of Wales Park and caught a different perspective on the city below. Cloud encases the Hutt Valley to the North. Mt Victoria is to the right and the green patch in the centre down below is the Basin Reserve.

And with my duty done, I now collapse back to bed.

*Rat to Mole from Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, harbour, Maritime, Normandale, Petone, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

