13 February, 2015 … a sunny interlude

Locusts, frogs, plague and pestilence!

IRD

Come to the dark side … IRD headquarters

I seem to been stricken with the latter, anyway, so I am running almost a whole day late with this post. These images were made on Thursday when I was still in good health. Since them some form of bug which I hope is transitory has laid me low.  I enjoyed lunch with a good friend and former colleague on Thursday, and that brought me to the university precinct of the Pipitea Campus. Behind the law school, like a giant fully operational death star, is the Asteron building, home to the Inland Revenue department.

gum

Flowering gum tree outshines the office blocks behind

On the other side of the law school is Bowen House which houses parliamentarians and members of their staff if they are not high enough in the pecking order to warrant a place in the Beehive. More attractive by far, is that magnificent flowering gum (Corymbia ficifolia)  in the foreground. I have often heard misguided passers-by presume it to be a late flowering pohutukawa. When I still worked there, it was a joy to look down from my fifth floor office and see that glorious tree. The nearer tree is also in blossom, but it never managers the riotous colour of its neighbour.

L'Austral

The mega-yacht “L’Austral

In Oriental Bay, there was a clear view of a new visitor to our port, “L’Austral“. She is a French-flagged mini-cruise liner, or as her owners prefer to describe her, a mega-yacht. Unlike the giants that come here, she carries a mere 225 to 260 passengers. Reading about the butler service etc, I would still be out of my comfort zone. But she is a fine looking vessel.

kayaks

Invasion fleet

Then I spotted what seemed like a small armada of invaders. They weren’t too good at the stealth thing, given te bright colours of their vessels. I suspect it was a school group on some sort of team building exercise.

So that’s Thursday done.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, flowers, Maritime, Oriental Bay, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 13 February, 2015 … a sunny interlude

  1. DennisW says:

    Color me conventional, but I enjoy your photos of buildings that show them from the ground up very much. Get well soon!

  2. gcbergergbergere says:

    Well, at least your IRD building is not the eyesore of our Internal Revenue Service headquarters in Washington. (And your employees probably are much nicer than our legion of snarky bureaucrats)

    • Yours is a solid classic that could equally well house the KGB or a law enforcement agency. Ours is a piece of commercial opportunism that is rented by the IRS until its next growth spurt requires it to move again 🙂

Leave a Reply

