February 12, 2015 … a dry landscape

When it’s calm I have to seize the opportunity.

Heron

Is it a bird or an umbrella handle?

At Pauatahanui, I went looking and saw little of interest. I turned round at Motukaraka and was heading back when I saw what looked like an umbrella handle sticking up out of the sun-bleached grass. It was a white-faced heron, but though it kept a wary eye on me, it seemed to tolerate my presence reasonably well. I got onto the walkway and then lay prone so as to shoot across the grass.

Wainuiomata

In the Wainuiomata valley

In the afternoon I headed down the Wainuiomata Coast Road where the pastures were desiccated. Thought I feel for the farmers whose business is at risk, I have to say that the landscape is picturesque in these conditions.

Shag

Black shag in a bush setting

At the Rimutaka State Forest Park, in the Catchpool Valley, I encountered an oddity for a bush setting … a black shag was enjoying the warmth of the stones at the edge of the Catchpool stream. It was more skittish than the heron and departed quickly.

Stream

Catchpool stream

It left me with undisturbed possession of a peaceful reflective pool in a beautiful piece of bush.

That will do for today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Forest, Landscapes, Light, Wainuiomata, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

