February 11, 2015 … becalmed in a windy city

There was a stunning silence.

Marina

Oriental Bay Marina a clear calm day

The wind had gone. Of course it will be back, but for a delightful day, or perhaps two, there has been that magical calm. In Oriental Bay, the old Marina was still a little ruffled when I arrived, but the boats were not bouncing around as they had been in recent weeks.

Monastery

St Gerard’s Monastery and Church from Oriental Bay

Looking up from the same pot, there is a good view of St Gerard’s Church and Monastery. As a young country, we don’t have the architectural antiquities that other countries do, but this building has been a dominant feature of the Wellington landscape since 1908 in the case of the church, and 1932 in the case of the monastery. The Redemptorist  order has long gone, and the place is now home to a mission community.

Friends

Friends taking in the view

To the East, these three men sitting in companionable conversation reminded me of the British sitcom, “The Last of the Summer Wine“.

Seaview

Seaview Marina

Last night was a camera club night and we finished as the twilight was fading. The stillness promised reflections in the Seaview Marin, and there were. However, I had left my tripod at home. I gave it my best attempt at a hand-held shot. I leaned the camera against a rock for stability, held my breath, and the result is an amazing testimony to the stabilization capability of the Fujifilm XT-1 lenses. f2.8 for 0.4  seconds. Hand-held!

May the wind stay away a bit longer.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Maritime, night, Oriental Bay, Petone, Reflections, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February 11, 2015 … becalmed in a windy city

  1. nzphotogToya says:

    Very impressive for a hand held shot! Well done!

Leave a Reply

