February 3, 2014 … as the gentle rain from heaven*

Shakespeare knew not these Southern rains.

Spoonbills

Royal spoonbills in breeding plumage

In his native land, the rain is often soft. Here in New Zealand the rain can beat you up. It is unkind to delicate electronic equipment. For this reason, I have a storm jacket for my camera and can still get out and about in wet weather. I began at Hikoikoi reserve because as I drove past I spotted a group of royal spoonbills. If you look closely at the rusty colour of their breast plumage, it is breeding season so there is a lot  of the avian equivalent of testosterone about . The duck has been given its marching orders and is beating a diplomatic retreat.

Lichen

Lichen in the reserve

I ended up at Pauatahanui where, if anything, it was raining harder. The track to the Southern hide was dripping and I had little hop of seeing anything useful, so I fired off a shot of some lichen on the bushes. One piece of lore about lichen is that it grows best where the air is clean. There is a lot of lichen in the reserve.

Ducks

Duck camouflage

From the hide, there was little to be seen except some ducks huddled on the stony sandbank, waiting for the weather to pass. I liked the way they merge so well with the colours of the stones.

Shag

Shag takes off in fright

On my way back to the car, there was a pied shag perched on a branch beside a stream. It tolerated my presence for a while but got nervous and launched into flight. The splash on the water is from the long downstroke  of its wings.

Something else tomorrow.

* William Shakespeare, The Merchant of Venice, Act 4, Scene 1.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Pauatahanui, Petone, Plant life, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

