January 24, 2015 … facing the sea from a rocky shore

Again that wind was deceptive.

Kapiti

Kapiti Island across the blue water, is even more rugged than the shoreline in the foreground.

Ruffled water at Pauatahanui spoiled the shots I planned there, so I kept going. Before I knew it I was on SH1 in the early stages of the rush traffic on a Friday afternoon. This was not good, so I baled out at Pukerua Bay. That too was more difficult than I expected. It was a lovely warm sunny afternoon on the last day of the school holidays so the beach was crammed with families parked on every free spot. I finally found a space at the far end, and set out along the coastal trail.

Arch

Te Ana Puta – the Marble Arch

Beyond the first kilometre or so, the track leaves the beach behind and becomes savagely rocky and strewn with tangled driftwood. A little way along the track is that huge rock with the hole in it which is known in Maori as Te Ana Puta.

Rock

Geology near Wairaka Rock

Nearing Wairaka Rock the track becomes more rugged and the rock structure is more shattered and broken.

Layers

Uplifted layers

Looking around, it is possible to see the uplifted layers of rock. This would not be a kindly place to be shipwrecked.

Pou

Pou Tangaroa at Pukerua Bay. There are many Pou Whenua which make a statement about the relationship between the local people and the land. There are fewer Pou Tangaroa which tell of the relationship with the sea.

The return journey offers slightly different views and as the car park nears, the Pou Tangaroa takes centre stage. This carving in honour of Tangaroa, god of the sea was made by master carver Hermann Salzmann.

Tomorrow, we begin a road trip.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Cook Strait, Geology, Landscapes, Maori, Pukerua Bay, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 24, 2015 … facing the sea from a rocky shore

  1. atwistedpair says:

    Having no |Like| button, you oblige me to comment.

Leave a Reply

