January 21, 2015 … a blue water day

Given the steady breeze, it was improbable that there would be good images.

Blue

Seaview Marina in the stillness of the morning

 

I tried anyway, beginning at the Seaview Marina where, to my huge surprise the water was almost glassy calm. I should add that today’s images were all made on the Fujifilm XT-1. The more I use it, the more I like it. Colours are crisp and clean, focus is sharp. It has a WiFi capability which means I can connect it to my iPad or phone and see what the lens is seeing, and refocus or adjust the exposure, and then trigger the shot without touching the camera.

Scorching Bay

Scorching Bay … I am trying to remember when the terns come back to the rocks in the middle of the picture

 

At lunchtime, Mary and I did one of our “you bring the food, I’ll provide the location” picnic lunches. I chose Scorching Bay on the Eastern side of the Miramar Peninsula. Children are not yet back at school, so the beach was busy. We set ourselves up on a grassy place on the South side of the beach.

Petone wharf

Sundown at Petone

 

In the evening, Mary had a meeting so I seized the opportunity to cash in on the golden light. At Petone wharf, as the sun neared the horizon, there were people walking, fishing, swimming and walking their dogs. A very nice evening.I was lining up on the sunlit haresfoot grass when I spotted the young man balancing on the handrail of the wharf under the approving eye of his grandparents. It’s a long drop to the wharf and an even bigger one to the beach below.

Wharf

Fishing, skating, walking, diving … it’s all happening at the wharf

 

The wharf as a whole was buzzing with all kinds of activity.

South view

Looking South from Normandale Bridge to Matiu/Somes Island with Seatoun in the background.

 

From there is was back home, but one last scene appealed  as I crossed the Normandale Bridge.

What will tomorrow bring?

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Matiu/Somes Island, Miramar, Petone, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

