January 20, 2015 … in a different world

Parts of the city make me feel like an alien.

Upper Cuba

From somewhere behind the windows in the red-painted area was the continuous thunder of taiko drumming. Otherwise all was peaceful

 

Though I love its architecture and to some extent, its character, Cuba Street in Wellington is home to people from a different planet to mine. Of course, I am a conservative (small “c”)  older guy, and the style of dress, the hair, the music, the skateboards, the piercings and the tattoos are all at odds with how I was raised. I don’t criticize any of these things other than to say they are not choices that work for me. So for the most part, my photographic visit to Cuba Street is confined to its architecture, beginning at the top near Webb St.

Ford

Superb restoration job on the Ford, meanwhile the locals relax at the street-front bar

 

A little down the road, on the other side, an old building is gradually being separated from its own kind, and it now stands alone. I guess that is how the old buildings will be weeded out, one by one. Further down the hill there is more security and more of a “vibe”. The 1933 Ford truck parked outside the bar caught my attention. Isn’t she a beauty?

Hotel

Once the People’s Palace, now a budget hotel, still a fine sight

 

The grand old lady that was for a long time a hotel run by the Salvation Army continues to maintain a dignified stance and her ornate stonework contrasts nicely with the trees down below. Despite the building’s abstemious heritage, there is an Irish pub on the ground floor.

Buckets

The Bucket Fountain

 

No one who calls themself a Wellingtonian can think of Cuba Street without also thinking of the Bucket Fountain. Temperamental in operation, gauche, noisy, messy, but absolutely iconic, this fountain is a kinetic sculpture that  has been loved by kids of all ages since its installation in 1969. As is often the case, some wit, or halfwit, thought it would be an original and humorous idea to add soap. Yes, that’s the first time anyone has thought of that since, maybe last week?

It’s an odd street, but we love it.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Light, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 20, 2015 … in a different world

  1. nzvideos says:

    Maybe the soap is simply to clean it:)
    What is the story behind the pirate flag on the building in the background?

Leave a Reply

