January 18, 2015 … spirits undampened

Parts of the country are in drought conditions.

Agapanthus

Agapanthus praecox in the rain

Here in Wellington, we have had fragments of everything. Saturday was a very mixed day, and as I set out in search of pictures, it was actually raining. I dislike the Agapanthus (Agapanthus praecox) intensely. Pretty enough in flower, it is a mess after it flowers, its sap is toxic, and it is an aggressive invader. In many jurisdictions it is classified as a noxious weed and must be removed if found. To understand why, see here. There is one on the neighbour’s property at the bottom of our driveway, and sprinkled with raindrops, despite its many shortcomings, it looked quite attractive.

Waterski boat

I can see no reason why a little rain should deter watersports. This powerful boat was taken for an unrestrained run after a day of towing skiers.

On the Petone foreshore, the water ski club was winding up for the day and one of the towboats was taken for a last high-speed run towards the city without a skier. I was amused at the signwriting below the driver’s window. It listed the crew as Driver: Dumb; Observer: Dumber and; Skier: Dumbest. Who am I to argue? The cruise liner Dawn Princess was in the background having delivered its passengers to a day of wet shopping on their summer cruise.

Gull chicks

Larus dominicanus (x3) going off the rails.

At the other side of the bay, I caught up with the three Black-backed gull chicks again. I swear they are growing before my very eyes, and they seemed bigger and more mature than when I saw them the day before.

Gardens

Hydrangeas real and reflected in the Opahu Stream in Riddiford Gardens, Lower Hutt

 

I came  home through the Lower Hutt CBD and had a stroll through the damp pathways of the Riddiford Gardens. There is a lot of clutter in the garden, but if you angle yourself just so, and then crop the image to a different shape, you can exclude the unwanted elements and see that there are delights to be had in the midst of the ordinary.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, flowers, Landscapes, Lower Hutt, Maritime, Petone, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

