January 16, 2015 … from squabbles to stillness

Mary wanted to see the pied-stilt chicks.

Spoonbills

I suspect the nearer trio are the ladies, and the unruly group in the rear are the men

Thus, my photographic day began at Pauatahanui once more. However, I think I have stretched the pied-stilt kick about as far as possible, so though I got some shots, I turned elsewhere. Near the entrance to the reserve, just a little back from the road, there is a fresh-water pond. Sometimes there are ducks, most times there is nothing, but yesterday there was a gathering of Royal spoonbills. As I watched, s fight broke out among three. Perhaps I am anthropomorphizing, but I interpreted this as three young women standing by while three young men fought over who was taking the prettiest one to the spoonbill ball. The fight got quite vicious though it’s hard to imagine those large flat bills inflicting any damage.

Petone

Dead Man’s elbow – Petone

In the afternoon I went to Sladden Park in Petone, to a place that I always knew as Dead Man’s elbow, though I can find no documentation to validate that. If nothing else there are usually numbers of Canada Geese there, but on this occasion, nothing.

Hikoikoi

On the slip at Hikoikoi

Down to Hikoikoi where again there was little of note in the birdlife, but a spell of calm made the place picturesque. In this picture, the boat on the slip was the favoured perch of George, our local white heron. Alas I haven’t seen George since the big storm in June 2013 when the windows on this boat blew out.

Boatsheds

The boatsheds

 

From the sea wall, the view across the water to the boatsheds appealed to me. There seems to be a lot of weed at present.

That’s enough for this visit.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Birds, Festivals and fairs, Geology, Hutt River, Korokoro, Petone, Reflections, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 16, 2015 … from squabbles to stillness

  1. Boeta says:

    lovely post and photos

Leave a Reply

