January 13, 2015 … fur and feathers

When I am at home, there are recurring locations for my photography.

Seeds

Seeds awaiting dispersal

Almost at the top of my list is Pauatahanui Inlet. To my eye, whether or not there are birds there, it is a place of extraordinary beauty, both in the broad sweep and the fine details. I was walking one of the tracks to the hide when one of the small details leapt out at me. I am not totally sure of the plant but it is one of several that delivers its seeds through airborne parachutes. It was there as one of a kind with no others in sight.

Pied Stilt

Nothing to see down there … look at me.

As I got close to the hide I was suddenly accosted by an adult pied-stilt circling  close over head and squawking at me. It was clearly on a diversionary mission.

Stilt chick

Pied stilt chick growing rapidly

It was obviously guarding something and it was apparent that it was this solitary chick. Given that there were two broods with a  total six chicks last week, I am apprehensive about what has become of the others. Today a friend mentioned seeing one of the stilts driving away a hawk, and I fear that may account for their absence.

Yellowhammer

Yellowhammer eating insect

Next I went to Whitireia Park where there were few birds of interest, but this little yellowhammer appeared and was dining on a fairly large insect.

Ducklings

Ducklings looking beneath the surface for food

Later in the day I was at Moera and found myself diverted down a back-street because of road works. The street crossed a small stream and there was a family of Mallard ducklings. Who can resist a fluffy duckling? Local slang used to use the phrase “box of fluffy ducks”  as a code for a state of happiness or well-being.

Enough for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Lower Hutt, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 13, 2015 … fur and feathers

  1. Liams daughter says:

    The flower is very striking 🙂

Leave a Reply

