January 11, 2015 … art in the city

I was minding my own business, to begin with.

Stinkhorn

It seems I got lucky and did not detect the normally powerful stench from this little fungus. The flies obviously liked it.

 

Then Mary came rushing in and said I had to come with her to a place where she had just walked with a friend. Ever the dutiful husband, I grabbed my camera and jumped into the shotgun seat and off we went, a few kilometres up Normandale Road. There, we parked and walked a hundred metres of so down a narrow bush track where she showed me some interesting “flowers” The bush was dark and I hadn’t brought a tripod or flash so the handheld shot is not as sharp as it might have been. I posted the picture on Facebook, and learned that this is a fungus of the type known as Anemone Stinkhorn (Aseroe rubra). The brown slime in the centre is said to smell like a rotting corpse and it thus attracts flies which spread its spores.

Terrace

On the Terrace at the top of Woodward St.

 

In the afternoon, I took a  ride to the city and walked around in the CBD. I began on The Terrace where a striking old building seemed worth a look. It is currently being strengthened to bring it up to earthquake code, Someone should look at that pole outside the building next door.

Top

“The Spinning Top” by Robert Jahnke is at the top of Woodward St.

 

The old building is on the corner of Woodward Street, a narrow little road wide enough for one vehicle though it is now a pedestrian precinct. When I came to Wellington, there was a vehicle turntable at the top. Cars would be driven onto it and the driver would pull down on a dangling rope which would activate the electric motor to turn the car through 180 degrees ready for the return journey. How appropriate, the that the piece of art at the top of the road where the turntable once was, should take the form of a spinning top.

Mansfield

Katherine Mansfield, woman of letters, in the garden at Midland park

 

At the bottom of Woodward street and across the road at the edge of Midland Park, is the statue of Katherine Mansfield. I have photographed it before, but the struggle for a different way of seeing it continues.

Braille

“Invisible City”

 

My final shot in today’s batch is of another piece of public art across the road from the entrance to Cable Car lane on Lambton Quay. The sculpture by Anton Parsons is called “Invisible City” and takes the form of two stainless steel tablets with raised braille-like dots. If I understand correctly, the dots are not actually Braille and spell out no words.

That’s all for now.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, fungi, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 11, 2015 … art in the city

  1. Reblogged this on Virginias Touch Photography, and Astrology Graphics and commented:
    Love this mushroom, looks like an alien!

Leave a Reply

