January 10, 2015 … in search of the mystical land of morning

My alarm was set for 4:45 am yesterday.

Arrival

Voyager of the Seas (L) and Seabourn Odyssey (R) emerging from the haze

Ridiculous isn’t it? I had read that the cruise ship Voyager of the Seas was due to call and would pick up the pilot off the heads at 6 am. She is the largest cruise ship ever to visit Wellington so, loaded with all the necessary kit I set out for Palmer Head on the Western side of the harbour entrance, hoping that I would get some nice shots against the rising sun. Events did not cooperate. The sun was still well below the horizon, but the sky was filled with rosy light. In addition, I found not one, but two cruise ships approaching the harbour. The second one was the boutique cruise ship, the Seabourn Odyssey.

Voyager

Voyager of the Seas is just massive

 

As the big ship came closer, the sheer scale of the thing became more apparent. I was perched on rocks more or less at the waterline, so the low angle helps to accentuate her bulk.

Sunrise

Sunrise over the Eastern hills

Soon she had passed and was on her way into the harbour. And now the sun made its appearance over the Eastern hills.

Odyssey

Seabourn Odyssey with the pilot vessel Tarakena racing to stay on station

This at least had the benefit of more dramatically lighting the Seabourn Odyssey as she picked up her pilot in turn.

IMG_9126

Harbour traffic

When she too had gone, I drove around Evans Bay to Pt Jerningham where it seemed everything was happening at once. If you click to enlarge this image you will see the Voyager of the Seas with her two attendant tugs. There is a beautifully kept old launch heading Eastward, and there are four rowing shells about to engage in a handicap race under the watchful eye of two boatloads of rowing coaches. The ferry Aratere has just passed out of view to the right, and if you look just near the furthest rowing shell, you will see the yellow swim cap of a long distance swimmer  plugging steadily through all the chaos.

Pano

Wellington panorama

My last shot today is a multi-image panorama showing that we had a fantastic start to the day in the harbour capital.

Though I remain skeptical, perhaps there is something to this idea of mornings.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in harbour, Light, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 10, 2015 … in search of the mystical land of morning

  1. atwistedpair says:

    The arrival of a cruise ship (or even two) wouldn’t drag me from my bed, but the prospect of shots like your “Sunrise over the Eastern hills” might make me consider the effort worthwhile.

  2. gcberger says:

    Voyager of the Sea. Ah! To sail with 3000 of your nearest and dearest friends on a monstrous floating hotel ??? No Thanks.

Leave a Reply

