January 9, 2015 … a soft summer night*

Despite a pleasant walk on the Camborne walkway with Mary, I had no useful images yesterday.

Diiving (1)

Diving into the splash left by the one ahead is a high risk strategy

 

So I went out again at around six pm, this time to Days Bay from where I hoped to get a shot or two of the very large cruise liner, Celebrity Solstice as she left port. The afternoon was a stunner. It was warm and clear, and the beach at Days bay was crowded with families picnicking and youngster were on the wharf, jumping in to the warm harbour. Perhaps summer is here.

Commuter

As the Days bay ferry approaches from the city, the giant liner visible through the haze shows no sign of movement

 

The target of my trip was still firmly moored at Aotea Quay though she was scheduled to depart at six pm. I could see no tugs so presumed her departure was delayed.

Days Bay Ferry

The Days Bay ferry runs several times a day and is popular with commuters and tourists alike

 

The Days Bay ferry came, offloaded its commuters, took on board city bound passengers and left again

Diving (2)

I never had the kind of courage that allowed me to do this sort of thing. My entry to the pools was more reminiscent of Mr Bean.

 

The youngsters kept jumping and enjoying themselves as they should be able to at their age.

Diving (3_

Arriving in the water with the intention of creating the highest splash.

 

Some made a big splash with the girls, and some just made a big splash.

Cruise

Celebrity Solstice sneaking out while my back was turned. She is glimpsed here in the gap between Matiu/Somes Island and Mokopuna Island

 

After deciding that I wouldn’t see the Celebrity Solstice depart, I turned for home and dinner. As I got to the Esplanade at Petone I was irritated with myself as I spotted the ship passing behind Matiu/Somes Island.

Departure

sailing to Akaroa in the soft light of the setting sun

 

After a little wait, she came into clear view though much further away that I had hoped for.

Bon voyage.

* Song for the Mira by Allister McGillivray

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Day's Bay, harbour, Light, Maritime, Sunset, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

