January 7, 2015 … being there is half the battle

That “seeing” thing is still at the front of my mind.

Fountain

Tanya Ashken’s Albatross

 

Yesterday I went into the city and stooped at Frank Kitts Park on the Wellington waterfront. Perhaps the most photographed piece of public art in Wellington is Tanya Ashken’s “Albatross“, a lovely abstract water feature. How can I present it in a way that conveys to you, the way I saw it?

Fountain (2)

Trying to see it differently

 

There must have been millions of shots of the fountain, or of the sculpture when the water stops. It usually does that just as I have had an idea for a different kind of shot, by the way. Yesterday it kept flowing and I tried different angles and different sections of the sculpture, just as countless others have done before meI am certain there is no angle or perspective that has not been tried, so all I can offer is some pictures that represent how I saw it yesterday. I liked the dark and stormy sky as part of the pictures.

Sparrow

Sometimes the simplest scenes are worth seeing. This bird was a bit over a metre away.

 

There is a little coffee kiosk called Tuatua in one of the boat sheds at Frank Kitts Park. They do good coffee and the two young women who were working when I called were real characters, having a lively conversation with each other and with the several pigeons who are regular visitors mooching from the customers. I took some very close shots of the pigeons, but the shot I liked best at this location was the common house sparrow that perched cheekily on the back of the chair at the next table hoping for crumbs.

Stilt

Mother stilt with one of her chicks.

 

In the afternoon, I wanted to see how the stilt chicks were faring since I had heard some worrying reports from my friends. It seems that they are getting camera-shy and that some of them may have disappeared. I am not sure if it is the same brood, but the hen I saw yesterday had just two chicks. I am hoping that the one with four chicks was in a different part of the reserve.

Herons

Wild thing!

 

White faced herons at Motukaraka Point were interesting and as I watched, two males engaged in some kind of duel for the affections of the female. After a lengthy period of posturing with heads held high, one of them just went right ahead and had his wicked way with the lady under the offended gaze of his rival who stalked off in a huff. Then he came back and resumed the duel.

I shall resume my own duel tomorrow as I continue my search for the secret of seeing.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Art, Birds, Pauatahanui, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 7, 2015 … being there is half the battle

  1. An interesting day! I like the albatross photos. And those chicks of which there are two are newly hatched. From the road it is hard to see them.

  2. atwistedpair says:

    I’ve never tried photographing the Albatross on a stormy day … mine were all fair-weather efforts. These shots of yours I really like.

Leave a Reply

