January 4, 2015 … the stilt family

We had a quiet day at home yesterday.

Mother

Mother is as loud as a smoke detector or burglar alarm when she senses any danger to the chicks

 

As a consequence I had to hop over to Pauatahanui in search of a “photo of the day”. The afternoon was fine and calm and I stopped at the ponds in the hope of catching up with those pied stilt chicks. Bingo! There they were, with their vocally protective mother. Four little fluff-balls. They are bigger and more self-reliant than the day I first wrote them (18 December).

Stilt chicks

The three good guys staying in the safe zone

 

For the most part the chicks seem to stay close to the parent and cluster together. But every family seems to have at least one free-thinker.

Solo stilt

The trouble maker, wandering all over the pond in harm’s way

 

Though three of the brood stayed within the care and protection of mother, one was wandering all over the pond exploring the exotic foods on offer in other parts. I was a bit concerned that the chick would be a mere snack for the Australasian Harrier I saw circling just down the road.

Grass

Salt water grasses

 

With the day’s catch in the bag, I turned for home but paused to admire the sun-washed texture of the grasses by the pond.

Goodnight all.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, flowers, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 4, 2015 … the stilt family

  1. DennisW says:

    I’m enjoying your “coverage” of the stilt family immensely. It may not fit your overall concept for the photoblog, but I would personally like to see something similar when and if it suits you. A construction project, the remodeling of a landmark building, the flowering of particular garden/park, etc.. I’m not asking for a yes or no, but couldn’i resist making the suggestion. Leslie and I hope to visit NZ in 2016 and look forward to seeing you and Mary.

Leave a Reply

