January 3, 2015 … a convoy to the sea

Photography is not a team sport in my opinion.

Panorama

The dry landscape just to the East of Martinborough

 

My preference is to wander at my own pace, to see what I see, and to make images that evoke the sensations of being in the situation as I saw it. That does not have to mean as it actually was it the time. I have spoken before about eidetic writing. I would extend the idea to images, if they enable the viewer to experience something of the same sensations that the image maker had. Yesterday I joined in a camera club expedition to White Rock on the Southern coast of Wairarapa. We met up in Featherston, and drove in a loose convoy though Martinborough and then to the South East towards White Rock. Though it is a mere 73 km from Featherston, Google Maps suggests it takes two hours. With photographers this could blow out to three.

River bed

A shingle river bed near the coast. I suspect the thistles in the foreground had been sprayed

 

This was a road I had not previously travelled so there were many new views to take in. Not very far from the coast, this view back the way we had come gave a good sense of a wide valley with a broad bed of river shingle. This would be impressive with the river in flood, but at present there is the merest dribble.

Near White Rock

There’s always room for a few more curves as we make our way to the coast.

 

From the same ridge, and looking in the other direction towards the coast, there was a nice view of the road winding its way down to sea level.

White Rock

White Rock … a limestone outcrop

 

and then there is White Rock itself. To quote a report from Boffa Miskell Ltd (2101) “The rocky shore platform and formations at Te Kaukau Point are uplifted layered limestone, sandstone and mudstone sediments. The White Rock Reef is the exposed end of a tilted limestone sheet that extends about 700m offshore.

DSCF1095Opua

The Opua ran aground on October 2, 1926 and is now rapidly disappearing. This is her stem

 

After we had taken our fill of pictures around White Rock, we meandered collectively back towards the Gladstone Country Inn where we were booked for dinner. Since I was a passenger in somebody else’s vehicle, I was happy that we had time to go to Tora, a little further up the coast. I had visited Tora before, and was quite surprised at how suddenly, the wreck of the steamship Opua had deteriorated. After being part of the landscape for about eighty years, the old ship seems to be yielding to wind and waves, and the only significant remnants above the water are her stem and the boiler.

DSCF1098

Looking North up the coast, I was reminded of how beautiful the area is. And apart form the dinner, that was the day. I enjoyed the company of my fellow photographers and had a lot of fun with them, but I remain convinced that photography is a solitary art form.

That’s all for now.

*Wairarapa Landscape 2010 by Boffa Miskell Ltd

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Art, Camera club, Landscapes, Maritime, Martinborough, Tora, White Rock. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

