December 31, 2014 … the first three years

It’s New Year’s Eve here, and this marks the end of the first three years.

Maggie

Maggie May (aged 10) with her new haircut.

 

I have been committed to taking at least one photograph every day for four years now, and have been blogging along with it for three years. I like to think that, slowly, oh so slowly, the discipline is helping me to see more clearly, and to make better images of what I see. My first picture from yesterday was of my lovely granddaughter Maggie who had her tenth birthday a few days ago. She wanted a particular hairstyle for the new year, so her mother took her to get it done. Personally I have more conservative preferences, but the joy of having it her way just lights up her face.

lamb

Perfectly done barbecued lamb

 

My friend and fellow photographer Evan had a birthday yesterday and kindly invited me to join in the celebratory barbecue at his home in Eastbourne. Vegetarians avert your eyes, but the marinated barbecued lamb was amazing!

Cat

“Where’s mine?”

 

The family cat didn’t get any of the lamb and protested about it.

Pavlova

A magnificent pavlova made by Dawn.

 

The rest of us were enjoying everything on offer and making silent promises to our bathroom scales that we really will start the new regime on Friday. Evan’s wife Dawn produced a magnificent pavlova which ticked all the boxes in this nation of pavlova critics. Brilliant! And in case there is any lingering doubt about whose national dessert it is, here is the last word.

kite surfer

Airborne kite surfer

 

On the way home in the late afternoon, I saw this fellow kite-surfing off Eastbourne beach. The wind was quite strong so he was getting some serious air time with what seemed like ten or fifteen second flights.

That’s it, I refuse to write another word until next year. Have a good one.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Children, Eastbourne, Family, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to December 31, 2014 … the first three years

  1. nzvideos says:

    I’m not trying to have the last word of 2014, but I wanted to thank you for sharing all the wonderful images. Please take care and know that I wish you and yours the best in 2015.

  2. gcberger says:

    I’ll “ditto” the above comment; additionally, as a Great Grandfather, Maggie’s hair looks very nice to me, and I love that beginning of an impish grin.

  3. The bar-b-q lamb and Pavalova look really Inviting. Right now it far too cold to cook outside.
    All the very best to you and your family for the coming year.

Leave a Reply

