December 25, 2014 … merry Christmas

My seasonal greeting is an expression of who I am.

Stilt

Pied stilt on sentry duty

 

It is not intended to diminish you or your beliefs, so please accept it in the spirit in which it is offered. For those of you with other beliefs, I offer you the warmest wishes appropriate to your culture or faith.  Meanwhile, out on the inlet, the birds are blissfully unaware. This pied stilt was on sentry duty and marched back and forth, scolding me all the while.

Tui

Tui on flax

 

Meanwhile, on a flax stalk near my chosen shooting spot, a tui came very close and got photographed for its pains.

Chews Lane

Chews Lane, in the shadow of the apartment block which occupies the airspace above the buildings on either side

 

I had a little last minute shopping to do before the country closed down for Christmas so went into the city. Parking was problematic, so I had to walk a way to get to the shop I had in mind. My walk took me through Chews Lane, a pedestrian precinct that runs between Victoria Street and Willis Street. Once the site of light commercial warehouses and delivery doors, it is now the home to several trendy coffee shops, sushi bars  and other slightly upmarket establishments.

Willis St

On Willis St

 

With my purchase made, I was walking back up Willis street and I liked the contrasting textures on visually adjacent buildings.

Spoonbills

“Stop sulking Cyril, I did notice you new hair style”

 

On my way to meet Mary for an early evening Christmas service, I paused as I went by the estuary at Hikoikoi where some Royal Spoonbills were browsing in the mud.

And that’s Christmas posting for another year.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Birds, Hutt River, Pauatahanui, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

