December 23, 2014 … golden weather

One of those golden evenings happened yesterday.

Judgeford

The roofing iron has gone, but the essential character of the building is still there

 

No wind, warm light, clear skies and I just knew it was going to be special. With a generous spousal dispensation, I packed up and went over the Haywards towards Pauatahanui where I hoped for some sunset reflections. On the way, to my great delight, I discovered that the shed at Judgeford had been  granted a brief stay of execution. I spotted the farmer in the paddock, astride his quad bike chatting to a neighbour. A quick U-turn and I learned that the iron had been removed from the roof and the final push from the tractor was imminent.  With his permission, I went into the paddock and got a closer acquaintance with the old building before it disappears forever.

Shed

A crude shelter, a guiding star, all that is missing is the baby. There were some sheep nearby, but no shepherds.

 

As I walked around it, the setting sun made an appearance between the roof members and I had to make that shot. I could see a seasonal connection here with a crib in a far off land and a star. I don’t know if a yellow-jacketed farmer on a big Honda quad-bike is the equivalent of a shepherd, or a wise man, but the image was there.

Chicks

Pied stilt with three of its four chicks

 

My next stop was at the ponds in Pauatahanui where I saw the pied-stilt chicks again. There were four of them, though only three appear in this shot. It is astonishing how much bigger and more independent they have become in the very few days since they hatched.

Sunset

A perfect end to a lovely evening

 

Did I mention sunset reflections? Ration creek is hazardous. I can never resist a sidelong glance along it as I drive across the bridge. There is no adjacent parking so I had to go on a bit to a place where another U-turn could be done safely and came back across the bridge and walked back to the right line. I took several shots as the sun completed its disappearing act and chose this as the best of them.

Goodnight all.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Birds, Pauatahanui, Reflections, Sunset. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

