December 22, 2014 … slow start and better ending

Days have been ending differently.

Subway

Pedestrian subway from Naenae shops to railway station and beyond

 

Grey mornings transform slowly into bright sunny afternoons. It’s better than staying grey, I suppose. Our day began with a visit form nephew Daniel who we met at Naenae station. I was impressed by the cleanliness of the tunnel from the shopping centre to the railway station, though I wondered if the cross-section of the tunnel was diminished as each successive set of graffiti is painted over.

Hydrangeas

Karl Maughan’s imposing Hydrangeas.

 

After a visit to the grave of Mary’s parents and his grandparents, we enjoyed a good cup of coffee and morning tea at the Dowse Museum in Lower Hutt. One of the paintings on display was an impressive nine-metre long painting by Karl Maughan, of hydrangeas in the Wellington Botanical Gardens.

St Pauls'

Old St Paul’s, a symphony of polished wood, stained glass and brass.

 

In the afternoon, I went into the city to see what I could find. I paused at Old St Paul’s. This splendid church was conceived by its architect as a Gothic cathedral made in stone, but was executed in native timber. Though  it is now a historic place rather than an active church, it is still a place of great reverence and is the repository for battle honours from the Royal Navy and the United States Marine Corps.

Sculpture

Wind-kinetic sculpture on Lambton Quay

 

From there I wandered along parts of Lambton Quay where I got a different take on the same sculpture I photographed a few days ago. I know it is fashionable to sneer at modern architecture, but I rejoice in  the various textures in the background.

Boulcott St

Antrim House, Boulcott Street

 

I went up Plimmer’s Steps and then down Boulcott Street where I paused to photograph Antrim House, now home to an art school, I believe.

Dappled

Dappled light

 

My final shot of the day is on lower Willis Street where the lovely old National Mutual Life Insurance company building was shimmering in the light reflecting from the glass wall in the building across the road. A friend said he had been counselled not to shoot in dappled light, but in this instance, the dappling is the very subject of the image.

That’s all today.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Naenae, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December 22, 2014 … slow start and better ending

Leave a Reply

