December 21, 2014 … the longest day

Baking smells remind me that Christmas is near.

Shortbread

I wish the picture could capture the smell of these wonderful biscuits (We kiwis don’t use the word “cookies”)

Mary makes the very best shortbread I have ever had, though I should avoid such things. Christmas does allow for a small breach of the rules though. There they were, sitting on the rack cooling. If I can’t eat them (yet) I can at least make a picture.

Blossom

Pohutukawa turns on its charm

 

After a shortbread-free lunch I went into town where I noticed that someone has tripped the magic switch that makes the pohutukawa trees all burst into bloom at once. These were on Oriental Parade.

Kio Bay

That’s a heavy-duty pathway and should be good to wear off some calories

 

In one of the little bays with Evans Bay, there is a pedestrian path  that zigzags up the hill to Te Anau Road. I have often wondered how to make a picture of it. I have the dreadful suspicion that I shall have to walk up there to do it properly. For now, the view from the bottom is all I have.

Tern

The fish seem to be committing suicide, and the terns are willing to accommodate them.

 

As I turned around I spotted a few white-fronted terns. A closer look through the long lens revealed that the water was alive with schooling fish and this was their equivalent of the office Christmas party.

So ends the summer solstice and as yet n serious sign of summer.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Evans Bay, Food, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

