December 12, 2014 … getting the low down

Each new discovery is one I don’t have to make again.

Herons

Rising from the reeds a flock of white-faced herons

 

There seem to be an endless supply of discoveries to be made, but I think I am making progress. I took the new camera out for a walk yesterday, but the first thing I saw was a flock of white-faced heron. They were beyond the 200 mm range of my longest Fuji lens, so  I used the trusty Canon and was just in time to see them depart from the reeds.

Kate

Kate at anchor

 

On the other side of the inlet, I saw “Kate”. She has had a new coat of paint and the name is obscured, but Kate has been part of the Plimmerton scene for quite a while now. She’s a sturdy little boat, but I wonder what she is used for now.

Speed

Plimmerton speed restriction

 

Across the bay, the line of boat sheds made an interesting picture, with the speed limit sign pointing the way.  The light was a bit flat but it was useful to learn how this camera performs in these circumstances.

Waterline

At the waterline

 

Down on the ramp of the Plimmerton Yacht Club, I used the flip-out viewing screen to try for a very low angle across the water. Still learning.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Paremata, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

