December 11, 2014 … at the bottom of a new learning curve

For the next few days I need to beg your indulgence.

Hutt

From our front door looking down towards Lower Hutt in the rain

 

I have acquired a new camera. Yes, I already have two fine cameras, the Canon 7D and the 5DII. Why would I be tempted to get another? It is the Fujifilm XT-1 mirrorless camera. There are many deep technical reasons why this is a different kind of camera. Suffice it to say that this extract from a hard-nosed reviewer is fairly typical of the reviews this camera is getting: “The Fujifilm X-T1 is an outstanding camera, boasting superb image quality, a fantastic viewfinder and continuous autofocus which actually works, letting you successfully capture subjects in motion. All this plus superb manual focusing assistance and Wifi with smartphone remote control packed into a compact but perfectly proportioned weatherproof body. It’s one of the best cameras around at this price point whether mirrorless or DSLR and one I can highly recommend.” (Gordon Laing, Cameralabs, March 2014*). Will it make me a better photographer? Of course not. It might make it easier for me to make better photographs, but that’s a different thing. On full Auto, it does a great job.  On other settings, it is very complex and I have a lot to learn. Of course I didn’t read the manual first and went to the front door and shot through the rain down into Lower Hutt.

Truck

Beautifully restored Bedford OLB truck that lives in the salt air at Seaview Marina

 

Despite the dismal weather I had to try it out, so made some shots from the driver’s seat of my car. Though the camera body claims to be “weather sealed” the lenses are not (unless you buy some of the newest models which are way above my budget).

birds

Swan and spoonbills each minding their own business

 

These are very ordinary shots, but in my defense, I really had no clue what I was doing with some of the fundamentals of the camera.

Grass

Fascinating texture in the grass

 

As I waited at a traffic light I had a minute or two to spare so snatched a close shot of the hardy sea-grasses planted in the median strip on the Esplanade. Bear with me for a few days as  I find out how to fly this thing.

Goodnight.

* Cameralabs review of the Fujifilm XT-1 by Gordon Laing http://cameralabs.com/reviews/Fujifilm_X-T1/index.shtml

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Landscapes, Lower Hutt, Petone, Vehicles, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

