December 7, 2014 … at the foot of the mighty mountain

New Plymouth has much to recommend it.

Bridge

Te Rewa Rewa bridge, Fitzroy, New Plymouth

 

Allegedly, there is a mountain nearby, though there was no sign of it for most of yesterday. However, the city seems very well equipped with recreation spaces for its citizens and visitors. A jewel in that crown is the splendid 11km coastal walkway which runs from the port in the West, to Bell Block in the East. Where it passes through the Lake Rotomanu reserve at Fitzroy, is the four-year old Te Rewa Rewa pedestrian bridge. My words can’t do justice to this so here is a link to the Wikipedia description. It is probably the most photographed bridge in the country.

Mynah

Common mynah flitting among the flax

 

Mary was visiting her Aunt, so I wandered along the walkway, and was intrigued by the number of common mynah (Acridotheres tristis) in the flax. When I was young, it was rare to see a mynah South of Hamilton.

Scooters

A herd of scooters rumbling along the walkway, engulfing all who stood in its way

 

A new noise came to my ears, louder even than the nearby waves on thee beach. An underlying rumble overlaid with the babble of a thousand starlings was soon traced to a herd of crash helmets in the distance. Someone had organised a scooter event for the kids and hundreds of them turned out. It was quite impressive.

bushwalk

High on the Western flanks of Taranaki, the Pukeiti Gardens and their bushwalks are a delight

 

In the afternoon, Mary and I went up the mountain (still unseen) to the Pukeiti Rhododendron Trust’s splendid gardens. Most of the rhododendrons had flowered and dropped their blooms, but the extensive network of bushwalks was a joy in itself.

Waxeye

Warbling waxeye proclaiming its dominion over all its surroundings

 

Late in the day, while Mary was again with her aunt, I went back to the Lake Rotomanu reserve. As I parked I heard a small bird warbling its heart out. It was against the sun so I couldn’t identify it with any certainty but thought it to be a grey warbler. When I got the image onto the computer and applied the appropriate corrections, I was astonished to discover it was a waxeye. I had never thought of them as songbirds.

Taranaki

Shyly, the mountain unveils

 

I went back to the bridge which is, by design aligned so that the alleged mountain can be seen framed by its ribs. And there it was.

More tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Birds, Family, Landscapes, Light, mountains, New Plymouth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December 7, 2014 … at the foot of the mighty mountain

  1. John Titchener says:

    You know how to forecast the weather in Taranaki, don’t you?
    If you can see the mountain, it’s going to rain.
    If you CAN’T see the mountain –
    it IS raining.

Leave a Reply

