December 4, 2014 … last minute grab and an attempted snatch

A photographic commission (non-paying)  took a lot of time in the afternoon.

Scrapyard

Any old iron?

 

A camera club committee meeting took out the evening. No personal pictures in the bag,  it’s after 10 pm and there was nothing else for it but to go out and about to grab some shots. What about the industrial area at night? I began in Seaview near one of the several scrap metal dealers.

tanks

Well lit chemicals

 

Next, I went up Seaview Road past the big chemical storage tanks of the Orica company. Several of their tanker trucks were lined up, cold and dark ready for deliveries the next day. I have no clue what is in these tanks, could be acids, alkalis, hydrogen peroxide, lubricants, or whatever. I am glad they are well lit and not easy to approach unseen.

Petone

Jackson St, Petone, after hours

 

Next I headed towards home via Jackson Street. I am not sure if they are seasonal lights but there seem to be more decorations than usual. The seasonal spirit was not universal as I was accosted by a guy who wanted my money. I was bigger than he was so I invited him somewhat forcefully to depart forthwith. I suspect it was more optimism than real expectation on his part. He departed muttering. That was my very first encounter ever with an actual attempted crime.

Restaurant

Lots of wiping and dusting just out of view, but they will be ready when they open tomorrow

 

As I walked back to the car, the only visible activity in the shops and restaurants was the cleaning and resetting of tables ready for the next day.

Good night.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Industrial, Light, night, Petone. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December 4, 2014 … last minute grab and an attempted snatch

  1. nzvideos says:

    “I was accosted by a guy who wanted my money.”
    I assume he had no weapon, so why would he think you would comply? This is an example of the difference between New Zealand and the states. I can personally attest that you would have had a different experience in the U.S. Another example of why I love New Zealand.

  2. There’s something about that scrap metal pile. And the notice on the gate that says “Thank you for your custom. Please call again.”

Leave a Reply

