November 29, 2014 … it was a dark and stormy night*

Yesterday’s journey began in Porirua.

Pohutukawa

Pohutukawa (Metrosideros excelsa) in early bloom in Porirua

 

After a pleasant lunch with a photographic friend, I  headed up to the hills of Whitireia Park after first pausing to observe the early bloomers on the Pohutukawa trees.

Grass

Long wind-blown grasses are home to the skylark

 

I had hoped to see skylarks in the long grass on the hill, but the wind and rain were such that all I took were a few shots of the long grass itself.

Weather (1)

Weather from the South … viewed from the top of Normandale

 

By the time I got home, the weather had cleared. After dinner Mary observed that there was a noteworthy dark cloud front approaching from the South. Mindful of the relatively empty photographic cupboard, I excused myself and went up to the top of Normandale Rd. From there, I compiled a four-shot panorama of the weather coming our way.

Tanker

Oil operations at Seaview

 

Down at the oil terminal at Seaview, our old friend the Stena Polaris was offloading petroleum products and its lights against the darkness of the incoming storm offered a little drama.

Weather (3)

Southerly weather

Halfway down the hill, towards home I paused for one more shot before the weather became more intimate. As I was collapsing the tripod after this shot the first fat drops of rain began to fall.

That’s enough for now.

*with acknowledgement to Edward Bulwer-Lytton, the true father of purple prose

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, flowers, Normandale, Seaview, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November 29, 2014 … it was a dark and stormy night*

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Loving the “Southerly Weather” shot – the cloud formations are quite spectacular. Well done (-:

Leave a Reply

