November 25, 2014 … the mysterious swamp sheep

There were parts of Pauatahanui that I had yet to explore.

Wildflowers

Wildflowers in the swamp

 

On Monday I decided to explore the parts of the reserve to the North of Grays Rd.  At first I found little of interest, though I liked the splash of colour in the patches of wildflowers along the path. I have no idea what they are, but I got down really low for the shot and got grass stains on my trousers as a result.

Sheep

Sheep lurking in the swamp

 

As I followed the winding path through the rushes that typify this salty wetland, I became aware of some sheep grazing in the boggy areas on either side. I must say I was surprised, as I recall from my year 8 geography lessons in school that sheep don’t do well if the ground is wet, and that foot rot is a likely consequence.

Kingfisher

Kingfisher

 

After reaching the Northern boundary fence I came back and spotted this handsome kingfisher perched on pine trees and retrieving insects from the grass below.

Pano

Panorama … looking South from Maungaraki

 

I had not long been home when Mary came in from work, keen to show me a hill and lookout she had visited over the weekend. I’m glad she did. From the little knob called Puketirotiro on the Western side of Maungaraki Road there was a view I had not previously seen. This is a nine-shot panorama stitch which you might need to click on to see the detail.

That’s enough for the day.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Animals, Birds, flowers, Maungaraki. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to November 25, 2014 … the mysterious swamp sheep

  1. Those are beautiful Blue-eyed Grasses (Sisyrinchium). 🙂

  2. John Titchener says:

    Re Swamp Sheep. Didn’t your geography teacher tell you that most sheep in New Zealand are Romneys? Or, to give them their full name, Romney Marsh, from the Romney Marshes of Olde England.

Leave a Reply

