November 23, 2014 … a grey mist on the sea’s face*

Wellington Harbour is a constant source of pleasure to me.

ski boat

Ski boat with no skiers

 

I like flat calm and perfect reflections. I like blue seas and white sails. I like wind-driven green seas surging ashore. I like squalls shrieking across a storm flattened sea. And I like a grey sea through the delicate veil of rain or fog. In all its moods I like it. Yesterday, it was grey, wet and with winds gusting to 140 km/h.  As I went towards the city yesterday, from Petone beach, I spotted the local water ski club doing some high-speed runs in their tow boat. The city and horizon were gone.

Lady Liz

Lady Elizabeth IV. I have known all of the boats in this series and remember well seeing the Lady Elizabeth II powering into massive swells as sh went out in a Southerly storm on an exercise from which she never returned. Two lives were lost.

 

In Oriental Bay, the police launch, Lady Elizabeth IV was returning to base, and from there looking North, the port had disappeared.

Pilot

The pilot’s job is to prevent the ship and the rock from overlapping.

 

At Seatoun Beach, the bulk carrier, Super Challenge was departing, apparently unladen. The pilot launch Tarakena was keeping abreast, ready to take the pilot off once they were clear of the harbour.

That’s the end of my day.

* Sea Fever by John Masefield (again)

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Maritime, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

