November 21, 2014 … scrap metal

Another grey day in late spring.

Ford

Beautifully restored 1931 Ford Model AA

The wind was whistling, though the sun was out in a fairly half-hearted sort of way. I chose to head towards the Eastern bays and as I drove through the Seaview area, I spotted a magnificent old truck outside a scrap metal merchant. A 1931 Ford AA was obviously not long out of the restoration process. The tyres were so new that the sprues (soft bristles from the moulding process) had not yet worn off. The vehicle was immaculate and in the tray a pile of scrap steel was artfully arranged and carefully spot-welded in place to prevent it falling off or being stolen.

Tree

Looking up through a scrap metal Christmas tree. If you look closely the steel wrapping has nasty teeth

 

Behind the truck was the weirdest Christmas tree I have ever seen. Constructed on a spine of steel pipe with carefully arranged pipe branches, the tree’s “foliage”was a careful wrapping of industrial bandsaw blades. My first thought was that it was some sort of razor wire, but the teeth were even more vicious than that. Dangling throughout the tree were decorative pieces of scrap metal. Very clever,  but not a thing of beauty.

Oystercatcher

Pied Oystercatcher

 

In Lowry Bay I spotted an oystercatcher. Normally shy birds, this one allowed me to get quite close as I peered around he edge of the colourful boatshed. As you can see the wind is getting under its plumage.

Boatshed

Boatshed at Lowry Bay with Kaukau in the background

 

From the other end of the bay, the boatshed’s vibrant colours stood out well against the hazy grey of Mt Kaukau so I got down to the waterline and tried to capture that contrast.

Something different tomorrow, perhaps

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Industrial, Landscapes, Light, Seaview, Vehicles, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

