November 20, 2014 … I yam what I yam*

Some of my fellow photographers read my blog.

Christ Church

Christ Church, Taita. The blurred leaves of the trees should convey the blustery wind that was blowing

 

They tell me I agonise too much, and that I travel too far, often with too little outcome. I appreciate their interest and advice very much, but it seems to me that self-critical introspection is a part of who I am and indeed, part of the purpose of my photography and of this blog. And in case anyone has forgotten, the WYSIWYG part of the title, which long predates the current blog, is an acronym for “What You See Is What You Get”. That brings me to yesterday’s images  which began at the historic Christ Church in Taita. I was wandering around the grounds of the oldest church in Wellington, and unusually I had abandoned the zoom and was using the “nifty fifty”, a  50 mm f1.4 prime lens. I am not sure I understand why so many people go on about the virtue of shooting with such a lens. I will seize all the advantages technology can give me.

Train

Looking though the cemetery as a train passes by on its way to Taita station

 

The cemetery at the back of the church is adjacent to the railway line, and separates the church from the road that it once faced. There are some old markers in the graveyard, but I guess those whose remains are buried there are no longer interested in the passing of the trains.

Clouds

Huge cloud bank at the end of the day

 

In the evening, Mary and I were sitting down to dinner, and I had my back to the valley. Mary suggested I really had to look at the spectacular cloud formation over the Tararuas, so dinner was put on pause while I snatched the shot.

Tha’s enough for now

*Popeye “I Yam What I Yam” (1933) see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5VXU6a9PcNI

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, creativity, Sunset, Taita, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to November 20, 2014 … I yam what I yam*

  1. John Titchener says:

    Ah Brian – But didn’t you know that WYDSIWYRW?

  2. Toya says:

    Love the cloud shot 🙂 And you didn’t have to travel far to get that one!

  3. AdamR says:

    Not seeing the virtue of a 50mm lens: long ago, someone once told me that the “art” of seeing is given to some people with all their vision, and some with only a small part of their vision, as though they’re looking at the world through a postage-stamp-sized aperture held at arms’ length. Those are the photographers attracted to the “mega zoom” type cameras.

    That assessment may have been a little harsh, but I’ve often thought of it. The originator is no longer around to argue with. But, to give it credibility, I’ve always found it easiest to get a good shot with a telephoto, harder with a standard lens, and pretty much everything that comes off the 10-22 goes into the delete bin.

    So I think it’s good to challenge oneself to take photographs of one’s immediate surroundings from time to time, rather than only photographing “what’s over there”.

    Disclosure: It’s been far too long since I picked up an SLR to photograph *anything* at *any* focal length!!

Leave a Reply

