November 19, 2014 … back to the birds

My birds have been neglected lately.

Spoonbills

Steady side to side filtration of the mud by the spoonbills probably produces a steady influx of mud crabs.

 

With this in mind, I went to Pauatahanui on Tuesday. The weather was middling grey, but for once, reasonably still. As I drove on to usual spotting place on Motukaraka Point, I saw flock of about eight or nine Royal Spoonbills browsing in the mud of the creek nearby.

Spoonbills (2)

The South end of a Northbound flock of spoonbills. In the air, they are as graceful as the herons.

 

Spoonbills are a bit unpredictable, and sometimes they will tolerate humans nearby and at other times they are a bit shy. I had stayed well hidden and not moved. Someone else came by with a dog and suddenly they were airborne.

Solo spoonbill

This bird chose to head West away from the rest of the flock … it gave me some nice light

 

Most of them flew to the ponds at the Eastern end of the inlet with a couple of socially inept birds going the other way.

Squabble

Lots of frantic hopping and scratching intended to drive the unwanted bird away

 

 

Since I was passing the ponds on the way home, it was worth a look to see what was happening there. By now the wind had returned and the water was unpleasantly ruffled where the spoonbills had settled, but the pied stilts were engaged in some interesting battles which seemed to be about getting rid of an unwanted bird from the flock. I can’t tell the sexes apart so I can’t be sure whether this was some sort of mate-selection process or just playground bullying.

Sorry I was late. More to come.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Pauatahanui, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

