November 17, 2014 … into the depths of the forest

In the afternoon, I decided to go to a less visited place.

calves

Eager for company the calves canter over

 

Kaitoke is the main water catchment area for the Hutt Valley and Wellington. Not only does it supply a vast amount of water, but it also provides a wonderful scenic recreational reserve.  As I drove in the approach road I admired the green and gold paddocks of the farm at the entrance.  As I lined up my camera, a trio of calves eager to get their pictures in the supermarket magazines, cantered up. Their excitement came to a sudden stop at the electric fence.

Swing bridge

I really dislike bridges like this

 

I have mentioned my fear of heights before, so you can imagine it took some gritting of teeth deep breathing for me to cross the wire suspension bridge. I am certain it is well made as these things go, but it is decidedly wobbly and a long way above those very hard looking pebbles on the river banks.

In the bush

Not ten metres from the bridge and there is a different world

 

Once on the other side, it is a different world. Birdsong and greenery, tall trees and the peacefulness of the bush.

Forest giant

High above the lower canopy you can see epiphytes growing and far above that, the upper canopy

 

There are some astonishingly tall trees in this reserve. The great Redwoods of California are bigger, of course, but in New Zealand these are mighty mighty trees. And everywhere there are epiphytes growing in branches and crevices.

Ferns

Fern patterns

 

It was late in the afternoon, but the sun was shedding a golden light and drawing stunning patterns on the canopy.

I must go there again, soon.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Animals, Forest, Kaitoke, Landscapes, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November 17, 2014 … into the depths of the forest

  1. I like the angle and DOF on the bridge photo

  2. Lovely bush images and not a bird in sight.

Leave a Reply

