November 12, 2014 … on the old South side of town

It is all to easy to drive through a place on the way to somewhere else, and fail to see the place you are passing through.

Berhampore

Berhampore, Wellington, Just South of Herald/Britomart Sts.

For me, Wellington’s Southern suburbs are a bit like that. I am usually on my way to the coast, or back to the city. Yesterday the coast was uncooperative, or perhaps it was that I was failing to see. I came up through Island Bay to Berhampore and via various back streets to Rintoul Street. Across the valley, I saw a row of houses which haven’t changed much physically since they were built, perhaps in the 1920s. When I first laid eyes on Wellington in February 1954, I recall the impression that every house seemed to be painted a drab buff colour and had a red “tin roof”. The post war utility colour seems to have gone now, though the corrugated iron persists. The colours have exploded and some people go to a lot of trouble to make these old houses look smart and lived in.

Newtown

I am not sure if these are as old as they look, but they fit the local architecture

My wandering delivered me to Newtown which has always had the reputation of being a “working class” suburb, and rarely the choice of the elite. Now it is a very cosmopolitan place, lively, active and full of the foods and clothes of various ethnic minorities.  It’s architecture remains that of a century ago.

Newtown 2

A “stately home”? Perhaps not. I am sure the people who live here are grateful for it.

Newtown has many “character buildings, and this stately old lady seems to be a hostel or boarding house of some kind.

Newtown 3

“No fuel tank, no emissions, no oil wars, no regrets” … if only life were so simple

It is probably a universal truth that the less affluent areas of any city are likely to be home to activism of various sorts. I am not sure how recent the slogan on the window of this boarded up shop is, but it was unsurprising to find it. I don’t normally look in people’s windows but I swear I can see the rear of a zebra in the second upstairs window from the left.

That will do for today.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Berhampore, Newtown, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November 12, 2014 … on the old South side of town

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    “It is probably a universal truth that the less affluent areas of any city are likely to be home to activism of various sorts.” <– I move this is because most paths to wealth require the abandonment of a social and/or environmental conscience. Or alternatively, the less money you have, the more you care about injustice

Leave a Reply

