November 11, 2014 … We will remember them*

At the going down of the sun, and in the morning, we will remember them.*

Helicopter

Early morning clatter from a helicopter at Harbourview

Yesterday was, according to the forecast, the last fine day for the rest of the week. My day started with the unmistakable clatter of a hovering helicopter. I pulled the curtains back and spotted the culprit along the Valley near Harbourview. It was ferrying underslung loads from one point to another. I imagine it was from the bed of a truck to a building site not yet accessible by road. I couldn’t see what the loads were since the hook was constantly below the treeline. The scary thing to me was the apparent proximity of the high voltage transmission wires, though the foreshortening effect of the long lens may have made that look worse than it was.

gull

Black-backed gull

In the afternoon, I went into the city and pottered around Oriental Bay and the Clyde Quay precinct. A juvenile black-backed gull flew in close and got photographed. Look at that quizzical eye looking down at me.

Divers

One in mid-flight, one on the middle platform and another getting to the top,

On the wharf, there is an aperture with a diving platform where young people (and even the mayor) dive into the water below. The youngsters love to “bomb” so as to make the biggest splash possible.

Scrap

Rusty steel … a mixture of old vehicles and industrial scrap

From there I went home via Seaview, and was caught by the pile of scrap steel. I suspect much of the current pile is from the railway workshops. Not a difficult guess since there were stacks of wagon wheels and bogie frames, and quite a lot of heavy gauge scrap which had been left behind by a profile cutter.

Camellia

Camellia

Mary’s car was in the workshop overnight waiting for a spare part to arrive so I had to pick her up from the hospice. The camellias in the garden were in spectacular form and surprisingly untouched by recent hail and windy weather.

frypan

Vegetables for one

I was on kitchen duties, and I quite liked the colour in a small pan of vegetables.

That will do for the day.

*For the Fallen, by Lawrence Binyon

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in flowers, Food, Landscapes, Machinery, Seaview, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November 11, 2014 … We will remember them*

  1. That last photo made my mouth water ;-0

Leave a Reply

