November 6, 2014 … messing about in boats*

This and the next few days are likely to be more terse than usual.

Wet tables

Summer lunch on the waterfront rained ou

Already, I am late in posting this edition. A scheduled lunch with a friend took me into the city on Wednesday. Some restaurants that are normally busy at this time were not faring well as their outdoor spaces were uninhabitable.

Kayaks

Messing about in boats. One of the youngsters had just climbed back in after a spill

Despite the rain, there were people following the advice of the Water Rat to Mole “Believe me, my young friend, there is nothing—absolute nothing—half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats.”*

Hikitia

Hikitia … a steam-powered floating crane which has served Wellington since 1926

There were bigger boats nearby, but few with a history as colourful as that of the preserved floating crane, Hikitia. Incredibly, when it sailed from Scotland to Wellington under its own steam in 1926, it did so for the entire voyage, with its jib erect as seen here.

Architecture

Taranaki St, old office building and purpose-built apartment block.

But I was here for lunch. There can be few Western cities that don’t have at least one Irish Pub. The one we chose had gone downhill considerably since our last visit several years ago. By way of consolation, I grabbed a shot of some of the contrasting architecture nearby. These buildings are in Lower Taranaki Street.

That’s all this time.

* Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, harbour, Machinery, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

