November 2, 2014 … bus barns to cricket bats

Yesterday was a follow-the-nose day.

Airport bus

An orange bus is going to or from the airport. These big Scanias are getting old, but are comfortable to ride in.

My nose took me through Kilbirnie where my eye was caught by the big bold blocks of colour at the bus barns. Wellington’s buses operate under contract to the Greater Wellington Council and the buses are, in some sense, colour coded. The airport flyers are bright orange, Wellington City buses are black and gold, and the Hutt Valley has a disgusting purple and orange scheme reminiscent of Barney the Dinosaur. Newlands and Mana operate in a fluorescent green colour.  Some of the orange buses were parked outside the depot so that’s where I started.

Wellington buses

Sleeping Wellington buses in the dark of the old tram barns

The barns themselves, once home to Wellington’s trams are large dark spaces and for me the main attraction is that they contain large collections of brightly coloured buses and I am sure there are pictures to be had. Not having permission to enter,  I stood at the door and got the next shot by leaning the camera on the door post for steadiness, and making sure a bus returning to the depot didn’t sneak up on me. If I have it right, these are some of the new Alexander Dennis Enviro 200 buses.

Island Bay

Fishing boats, a generation apart

Of course, Kilbirnie is close to the South Coast so I followed the road to Island Bay and paused to catch these two fishing boats tugging at their moorings.

Cricket

Cricket at Adelaide Rd

From there, I went up the Parade into Berhampore and Adelaide Road. At the top  of the hill, I stopped to watch some club cricket in action. If memory serves, the batsman swung and missed but the ball missed the wicket.

That was the day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Island Bay, Kilbirnie, Machinery, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

